reView FAQs

How do I change the background color on the exported reView files?

reView files are always created with a white background, this can not be changed.

What is the difference between opening and importing a reView (.spv) file?

If a reView file that contained the original SoftPlan file is opened, both the original drawing and the mark-ups appear on the screen. If the same file were imported, only the mark-up items would appear. Open is likely used if the original plan is unavailable or unchanged. Import is more likely to be used if work on the original drawing continued after the reView file was created. 

How do I install reView?

Installing reView is a 3-step process.

  1. First you must load SoftPlan.
  2. Then install SoftPlan reView from the SoftPlan Installation DVD.
  3. Finally enter the SoftPlan reView activation code.

Complete instructions including the activation code were shipped to you with the new DVD. 

The reView files seem large and are slow to email, what can be done to make them smaller?

If every export option is selected (embed current drawing, include images, and allow print) then the result will be a larger drawing. Only include what is really required in the reView file. Note that images make the biggest difference.

Why is the Review Selection Grey in Color and Not Selectable?

SoftPlan reView is an add-on module to SoftPlan home design software.  If SoftPlan reView is not selectable the most likeley cause is that is was not purchased.  For information on added reView to your SoftPlan home design software please click here.

How do I create a user login and password for the reView app or PC Viewer?

A SoftPlan reView login and password is only required to view SoftPlan+ Projects which have been published using the SoftPlan program.

When a SoftPlan+ project is published, the project recipient will receive an email from SoftPlan, not the project publisher, which includes a link to a reView account creation webpage. The project recipient's email address serves as their login.

Once a password is selected the account will be activated and the login and password can then be used to access published projects within the SoftPlan reView viewer. It is only necessary to create an account once, and once created all projects that are published to that account will be available in the viewer.

Projects which have not been published, such as those sent as email attachments or as files on a CD, DVD or flash drive, do not require a login and can be viewed by using the Open command within SoftPlan.

How do I create a reView file and send it to my client using SoftPlan+?

In SoftPlan, go to File, SoftPlan+ Publish, reView. Select the Drawings and/or Panoramas that you wish to send to your client and add their email address.

Note that Panorama locations are listed based on Rooms that have been added in Room mode.

An email will be sent to the client directing them to our website where they can create a username and password and download the reView Viewer. Once installed, the client can then open the reView Viewer, enter their username and password and view the projects that were published.