#1 Wouter van Tiel

Wouter van Tiel

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationColorado

Posted 08 April 2017 - 04:31 PM

Hello,

I have been drawing plans for 20 years with a simple line drawing tool I bought for $35 and it always did everything I wanted and no more, but it was slow and manual and no 3D. So I took the plunge based on a friend who uses Softplan (he is a basic user and mostly line draws).

My approach in Softplan is to keep all drawings live as much as possible because there are huge time savings there. When clients invariably change their minds you want to be able to make changes fast and without a lot of extra work. Saving an elevation as a drawing and then start drawing lines is like going backwards, isn't that info already in the program?)

Here is what I am looking for in feedback from the experienced users:

- Tell me where I am going wrong on my approach (stated below)

- How should an efficient work flow look? What do you do?

Based on my 8 intense weeks with Softplan: (12 hour days - I am legitimately cross eyed now :))

I followed the book and I have to say drawing floorplans and seeing the 3D is awesome, now that I understand the object oriented concept (could have been explained somewhere please SP) I can get a plan drawn in a day in 3D. This includes the crawlspace/basement, floorsystems and roof. All in 3D and with the surfaces in the correct textures and colors and some of the interiors for quick effect but not super detailed as that is not necessary yet. I can impress a client with that. Then they can make their initial changes based on these 2D & 3D views. Super!