Jump to content


Photo

Locking a Drawing in a Plan Set

Plan Set Move Lock

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Mark Gradison

Mark Gradison

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 10:42 AM

We have a title block drawing that we add to the plan sets as a drawing and use the project options for the Project Information.

 

With the upgrade to 2018 the Title Block drawing is the default object selected all the time to EDIT or MOVE.  Also when we right click over the drawing and select MOVE through the dialogue box the selected drawing will disappear and most often not move on the first try.  Then you have to re-select it through the right click dialogue box to get it to actually move.

 

Is it possible to "lock" a drawing in a Plan set?

Also does this happen to anyone else?  Were you able to fix/ better method?

 

Thanks. 



#2 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,843 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 10 August 2017 - 10:59 AM

How are you adding the title blocks? ... If you add them CORRECTLY they are actually IMPOSSIBLE to select.

 

The Title Blocks should be added HERE ...

 

Attached File  2017.08.10_13h55m11s_001.png   34.06KB   1 downloads

 

Not pulled in like the other plan set drawings ...

 

The move issue I've seen regularly, but again, it's not so much an issue if your not selecting the title blocks.


Keith

There are 10 types of people in this world ....... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Softplan user since version 5.5.2.5

www.homehardwarekingston.ca

#3 Mark Gradison

Mark Gradison

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 06:55 AM

Since we need to open plans from station to station; we were advised in this FORUM to add them as a plan so they do not "drop off" when opened on another station. 

Also as a side note there are several ways to perform tasks in Softplan to end with the same result. So to your comment of doing it CORRECTLY, we are simply doing it DIFFERENTLY to avoid the added time of reloading the title blocks every time they are opened on a different work station.  

My question was simply can you lock a drawing while in Plan Sets. 



#4 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,843 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 11 August 2017 - 07:23 AM

Apologies.

 

No I don't believe that you can LOCK a drawing in the plans set.


Keith

There are 10 types of people in this world ....... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Softplan user since version 5.5.2.5

www.homehardwarekingston.ca

#5 Dennis Asher

Dennis Asher

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 08:01 AM

I think I do it the same as you Mark.  I reduced the workspace size of my "Title Block Drawing" so that it's drawing size doesn't cover the page of my border.  I'm sure that's as clear as mud...lol



#6 Tom Rogers

Tom Rogers

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • LocationVilla Rica, Georgia

Posted 11 August 2017 - 10:15 AM

If you open up the drawings on different machines, all you need to make sure is that the title block is pathed the same (i.e C:/Softplan/Titleblocks/) or wherever you save it.  If you save it on a server and you trying to access it from a machine that is not on that server (say laptop at home) you will get the error.  I have builders in Texas (I'm in Georgia) that we both use Softplan and path it the exact same way.  Most computers use C: drive and Softplan will load onto that so we have no problem.  Then if we make a change to tiltleblock, for what ever reason, just save it and override the file and you are good for all your projects. 


"remember... what we are building today, should be what we want in the future"‚Äč

Version 10 to Version 2016+ and beyond

www.residentialproductions.com

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users