Jump to content


lock out SP drawings


7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jb_*

Guest_jb_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 March 2018 - 09:34 AM

Please Help.  Is there a way to NOT ALLOW fellow co-workers into the project you are working on?  They are not taking the warning seriously and opening the project while in the mean time they are the "last one in" which means what THEY save is what is SAVED.  So all the work that i have done is GONE!  Is there a central model location like Revit has?? - that works amazingly!, but that's commercial architecture.  Revit would never allow this to happen, not sure how SoftPlan can work without it.  How do firms with more than one person work this out?  

thanks for the help!



#2 Steve and Carla Farnam

Steve and Carla Farnam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 234 posts

Posted 08 March 2018 - 12:22 PM

Morning jb, I would suggest contacting Softplan support for a quick answer to your question.



#3 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 March 2018 - 08:45 AM

Thank you for responding - i already asked them.  They don't have an answer and said to go on the Forum and ask you guys.  I think its weird to not know how to control your own program and have to ask the users to figure it out for you.  I am used to Revit, so SP is a huge downgrade for me.  It's an adjustment.

 

thanks again.



#4 Douglas Morell

Douglas Morell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • LocationEast of the 100th Meridian, West of the Longitudinal Center of Canada

Posted 09 March 2018 - 09:09 AM

For Projects where you feel it is critical that NO ONE be able to access, .. I suggest saving them on your C: Drive, removed from your Network.


.. invariably, someone will have a simpler solution.


#5 Tom Rogers

Tom Rogers

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • LocationVilla Rica, Georgia

Posted 09 March 2018 - 12:39 PM

I don't use a network but I do have others guys that work on my stuff off Softplan+.  There are times that they don't pay attention and open it and work on it.  From a management side that is my problem as they are not paying attention or not trained correctly.  From a drawing side I now see another notice if I am in it and I try to close.  It tells me that someone else is in it and asks me if I want to save.  So now it is just who is last one in. Somebody closes out and loses their work while the other saves.  I don't pay for mistakes so that person just wasted his time.  It only takes a few days of not getting paid until they are back on track.  Goes under the mantra "dont blame the tool if you can't cut correctly"


"remember... what we are building today, should be what we want in the future"​

Version 10 to Version 2016+ and beyond

www.residentialproductions.com

 

 


#6 Tom Rogers

Tom Rogers

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • LocationVilla Rica, Georgia

Posted 09 March 2018 - 12:40 PM

Now with that said it would be nice if Softplan can look into this to work better in the future


"remember... what we are building today, should be what we want in the future"​

Version 10 to Version 2016+ and beyond

www.residentialproductions.com

 

 


#7 John Jones

John Jones

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 118 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 02:06 PM

If SoftPlan+ is used there are tools to control who has access to the project and who has the most current version of the project.  It sounds like the OP may be just sharing a regular network folder.



#8 Guest_jen born_*

Guest_jen born_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2018 - 12:24 PM

Thank you Tom for your comments, unfortunately it is the boss who is doing this :(

 

John Jones:  We are SoftPlan+ users using the most up to date software.  My boss controls which projects are shared out with us.  I don't think i understand your comment, please clarify as if you know a solution, i would love it!

 

thanks!





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users