Foundation Pony Wall

7 replies to this topic

#1 Christian Verbrugge

Christian Verbrugge

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 September 2018 - 11:52 AM

I have been using SP since 1994 and find myself stumped.

I have created a basement wall that is comprised of a 44" foundation with 1/2" air space then a 44" insulated 2x4 stud wall, finished with drywall. 

On top of the foundation I have a 53" high insulated 2x6 stud wall with Hardipanel on strapping on 3/8" sheathing and finished in drywall. 

I have not added paper or vapor barriers to the wall system.

The 2x4 stud wall is fastened to the 2x6 stud wall using a 2x10 bottom plate on the 2x6 wall.

I have attached clips of the wall edit.

My problem is that in the plan view, the image of the wall does not show the components and I cannot get the extensions or dimensions from the 2x4 wall. (See PDF)

Historically, I would add the lower foundation / 2x4 stud wall and edit the height to 44", then include the 2x6 stud wall with edits for a 44" offset and total height of 53" for an 97" high wall system.

I am prepared to revert to my historical process with 2 walls, but I am curious if there is a way to have this wall display the upper and lower stud walls and work with extensions and dimensioning.

Attached Thumbnails

• SP Wall specs1.JPG
  • SP Wall specs2.JPG

Attached Files

#2 Henry Buckner

Henry Buckner

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts

Posted 01 October 2018 - 06:54 AM

The display height (cut line) is above the lower wall- try lowering that.

#3 Yvon Gonthier

Yvon Gonthier

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,288 posts
  • LocationOttawa

Posted 01 October 2018 - 06:59 AM

Your display height is cutting thru your top plate so that's what it's showing. You have to adjust the display height so it's cuts thru the wall section you want to appear on the floor plan

#4 Tom Rogers

Tom Rogers

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts