• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Jay Gremaux

Jay Gremaux

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 February 2019 - 03:12 PM

I have been asked to dwindle down the list of wall types for our office.  We have 5-6 people drawing, and many of the people have created many of their own walls.  When we share files, those walls will populate everyone's list.  Many of them are unnecessary, and it becomes cumbersome to find the one you are looking for.  I am fairly new to Softplan, so I wasn't sure if anyone had devised a good minimalist approach to wall types.  Thanks for any input.

#2 D M

D M

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 402 posts
  • Location..

Posted 15 February 2019 - 04:28 PM

Start a NEW Drawing, .. (keep it by itself for future use)

Draw a segment of each of the Wall Types you want to have as your standard list.

Under drawing Options, .. Define Wall, Edit, .. select and delete each of the wall types listed that you do not want

(This can be time consuming, but worth it to avoid the aggravation you're having with cluttered wall types) 

SAVE this drawing with the preferred wall types. Keep it open, ..

..then, ..

SYSTEM OPTIONS, .. DEFINE WALL, .. Import/Export, .. select 'Current Drawing' .. IMPORT

That should purge your system of old wall types and re-populate with your new preferred list of types.

.. invariably, someone will have a simpler solution.

#3 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,098 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 15 February 2019 - 06:37 PM

I don't believe that will purge. I think it will only import the current drawing wall types into the system, and if they already exist, won't even bother to do that.

Although I stand to be corrected.