28 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Hand

Michael Hand

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • LocationCalverton, NY

Posted 12 March 2019 - 06:23 AM

Since StruCalc is now Vitrus I am not certain I want to use them. The demo does not have the same feel as strucalc and I am not a fan of forcing a lease on most things, with the exception of softplan plus, for a number of reasons

I am curious what others use that can perform the same as what strucalc was, use of flitch plates , varius spans, loads and point loads

• Jim Johnson likes this

#2 Philip Frank

Philip Frank

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • LocationMaine, USA

Posted 12 March 2019 - 07:21 AM

https://www.beamchek.com/

I've been using this for over 15 years.

• Tom Rogers likes this

#3 Harlon Suttle

Harlon Suttle

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • LocationOverland Park, Ks

Posted 12 March 2019 - 07:54 AM

I concur....Beamcheck is what I use for prelim analysis.....anything out of the norm is sent to a Structural Engineer....

Harlon G. " Buddy " Suttle
casekc49@gmail.com
CELL: 913-339-6242

#4 Michael Hand

Michael Hand

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • LocationCalverton, NY

Posted 12 March 2019 - 08:20 AM

does beam check use steel, handle point loads and calculate for deflection, shear, moment with typ beams, rafters, ridges, etc and also footings?

#5 David Zawadzki

David Zawadzki

Boss

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 643 posts
  • LocationBoise, Idaho

Posted 12 March 2019 - 08:54 AM

What is the difference between Beamcheck for $149 and Forte Web from Weyerhouser or BC Calc from Boise Cascade for $0?

https://www.weyerhae...forte-software/

https://www.bc.com/m...-calc-software/

Can we get this for SoftPlan?

OPEN FILE EXCHANGE Send members to Forte for analysis from your software