4 replies to this topic

#1 Jacob Kuiken

Jacob Kuiken

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationBritish Columbia, Canada

Posted 02 January 2019 - 11:38 AM

I'm new to Softplan, switching from AutoCAD. Our company designs a lot of homes with this "westcoast/shed" style roof. I am bumping into so many issues when it comes to maintaining a roof design.

1. I've drawn the shed roof and have had it working but every time I make changes to the plan (to things that aren't even roof related or would IMO affect the roof) it adds more planes and/or adds this "rim" around the underside of the perimeter of the roof... Is there away to make this go a lot more smoother? This has become increasingly frustrating as I'm spending more time figuring out the roof issues than anything else. Have I approached the design incorrectly? I started by setting the hip walls to the height I'd like them to be and then assumed the roof would start at that height and then I'd just adjust wall height to fit roof from there. (I've attached an image of what I'm looking at, at this moment... again, it's supposed to only be one plane. I've tried matching roof planes in the edit toolbar and it just doesn't work on this latest change.)
  2. I also have this separate roof over the entry area, it constantly keeps dropping below my columns and beam and separating from the soffit. Is there away to prevent this or maybe lock it in place?
  3. Also, is there a way to add cross section lines to a roof plan?
  4. I saved a separate file named roof so that I can add it to my plan sets in roof mode, but it doesn't stay updated with the actual file I update, what is the best way to work around this 
  5. Is there a truss detail for this design? I've tried drawing in trusses and nothing has really looked like what this design uses. I've had to adjust the thickness of the shed to 18" as this is the depth of our trusses. Is this the way to do this?

If anyone can help, I'd greatly appreciate it!

AOldridge