35 replies to this topic

#1 Don Gibbons

Don Gibbons

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts

Posted 15 February 2020 - 06:47 AM

I've recently hired a college grad to work for me. He had AutoCAD and Revit all through high school and college. When I told him he had to use SoftPlan, he'd never heard of it. He was hesitant but game to learn(not that his job was on the line or anything like that  ;) ). I've left him alone to be self taught for the most part, with a curriculum I made when I taught SoftPlan at the local college. His comment to me after a while: 'Why don't they teach this at the college, it's so easy, way easier that Revit.'

I'm also teaching another Revit/AutoCAD user who wants to work part time for me and he's said something quite close to that as well.

• Keith Almond and Heath Foster like this

#2 Dennis Hilborn

Dennis Hilborn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 816 posts
  • LocationDFW Texas

Posted 15 February 2020 - 12:57 PM

That's exactly what I said in the beginning.  But then when I got deeper into SP I realized there are much fewer editing tools and I dearly miss them.

#3 Don Gibbons

Don Gibbons

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts

Posted 15 February 2020 - 08:02 PM

Like what?

#4 Dennis Hilborn

Dennis Hilborn

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 816 posts
  • LocationDFW Texas

Posted 16 February 2020 - 09:39 AM

I've made many posts discussing them. 

A few just off the top of my head:

* A true Stretch command.  Stretch in Autocad is much more useful especially since you can use a pline.

* A mirror command that works on ALL entities and directions.  SP mirror works on some but not all entities.  I would like to be able to use it to mirror windows ALL the time but it only works about half the time I try it.