Easy way to extract a house design on load to another PC???

3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Frank Simone_*

Guest_Frank Simone_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 March 2023 - 09:12 AM

I am just a rookie, who would like to have my architect provide me with an electronic file of his SoftPlan design of my new house. I would then like to load that file into the SoftPlan software I have loaded on my PC laptop.

He doesn’t know how to do that! Can anyone provide me with an easy way for him to extract a design from SoftPlan, so that he can send it to me, so that I can load his plan into my PC???

Thank you

#2 Sam Morgan

Sam Morgan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 842 posts

Posted 29 March 2023 - 10:42 AM

doubt that its that he doesn't know how to do it....its more likely why would he give you his property?  I wouldn't give up any of my files to any of my former clients

• Stephan Page likes this

#3 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,092 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 29 March 2023 - 11:32 AM

Try:

File > Send to > Compressed (zipped) Folder ...

That should send you the whole project that you just unzip.

Keith

There are 10 types of people in this world ....... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Softplan user since version 5.5.2.5

www.homehardwarekingston.ca

#4 Todd

Todd

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 March 2023 - 08:45 PM

It may be an awkward situation, and he doesn't want to get involved as Sam suggested.  By law after 1990 the architect owns the design even if were a joint effort in coming up with the design unless he was hired specifically with a "work for hire agreement"- there is no exception to this (unless he derived his work from someone else's copyrighted work), therefore even the printouts belong to him, not who paid him.