• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Warren Taylor

Warren Taylor

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 16 October 2019 - 08:36 AM

Hello everyone and appreciate any help.  I'm new to Softplan (using about 2 months) and modifying a plan for my own home build.  The front overlapping gables both have a change of roof pitch about 2/3 down on the right side.  I have not found a suitable way to replicate this in Softplan .  Any suggestions? 

I've attached both pictures (as designed in Softplan so far) and as built showing the angled right side of the gable roofs in front. 

Thanks for any help

Warren

Attached Thumbnails

• House Roof Softplan.png
  • House roof as built.jpg

#2 Jon Davis

Jon Davis

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts

Posted 16 October 2019 - 08:53 AM

Right click on that edge of the roof, edit edge, and change type to double hip and then input the bottom and top pitches, and the length of the bottom pitch.

Attached Thumbnails

• double hip1.jpg
  • double hip2.jpg

#3 Warren Taylor

Warren Taylor

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 16 October 2019 - 09:08 AM

Oh wow - that worked.  I kept playing with the distance and pitch and got the look I'm after.  One mistake I kept doing is clicking on the roof front and selecting edge thinking the "edge" is the same for all edges.  Not true - each edge can be selected separately.  Thanks for the tip!

Warren

• Jon Davis likes this

#4 Jon Davis

Jon Davis

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts

Posted 16 October 2019 - 11:14 AM

yep. each edge can be edited independently of each other. Works great when you need 2 different pitches like where you have a wrap around porch

where the sides are deeper than the front, or vise versa and you still want the ridge to meet at the corners at the top.