#1 Damian Kurtyka

Damian Kurtyka

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationBancroft Ontario Canada

Posted 15 March 2021 - 05:40 PM

Hi All,

First of, need to point out that I am an absolute beginner with the program. I just purchased it after having a home building company for 15 years, and my usual designer retired. He recommended the program to me, and I have been experimenting with the trial for a couple months, and now have purchased the product, and have began doing actual plans. 

I have read the book, and watched some of the tutorial videos, but that seems like all the "basics" design, and I have not found anything that would help in my particular scenario. 

I am working on a 80'x40' barn style building with off center ridge gable roof (attached pic). It has taken me about 3 hrs of figuring out how to make a roof like this, but its only cosmetic. In my situation, we always hire out the roof engineering to the truss company so the drawings rarely show anything more then "rough" truss or rafters in cross section drawings. However because the clients want a shed roof attached to the front at a different pitch over the front porch, this current roof does not work as it is I guess default as rafter roof which will have the birds mouth, overhang and soffit. In reality this will be a truss roof, and on the front side, the truss will sit on the outside 2x6 wall flush with the outside. Then there will be rafters cut onto the wall sistering the trusses extending over the porch. (attached pic). So long story short, sorta, Is there a way to default the roof to be a truss roof, regardless in my situation, of the style, so that I have control over the end?

If anyone does respond, thanks very much. I am looking forward to using this program and partaking on this forums page. 

Thanks

Attached Files

#2 Heath Foster

Heath Foster

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts

Posted 15 March 2021 - 07:43 PM