Jump to content


Photo

2020 setup

setup

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Danial Anderson

Danial Anderson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 24 May 2019 - 04:20 PM

I have prior versions of softplan in my computer

softplan 2020 is asking if 

 

yes, copy my soft plan configuration, projects, and custom symbols

 

no, do not copy my soft plan configuration, projects, and custom symbols.

The "no" is a pre selected choice, I really think I want to click yes, but I'm 2nd guessing myself, only because soft plan had the "no" preselected.

question, which one am I suppose to choose . I don't know the consequences? 

Thank you for any advice

D.A.



#2 Gary McKeon

Gary McKeon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 424 posts
  • LocationSilverton Oregon

Posted 24 May 2019 - 05:13 PM

I would choose "yes". 



#3 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,600 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 24 May 2019 - 05:42 PM

I also would choose yes ... if you choose yes, you get 2020 configured as your previous versions. if you choose no, you get a straight out of the box configuration.


Keith

There are 10 types of people in this world ....... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Softplan user since version 5.5.2.5

www.homehardwarekingston.ca

#4 Kevin Rabenaldt

Kevin Rabenaldt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio

Posted 25 May 2019 - 09:24 AM

I would choose no.  Take your 2018 project folder and make a backup using Windows.  I use something like SP2018ProjectBackup.  Now do an archive in SP 2018 on everything except projects.  Load SP 2020.  Then use the archive to bring in everything except your old projects.  Then in the new project folder copy and paste those projects you want to reside in your SP 2020 or you may want they all.  This way you have a "clean" copy of all your old projects.  Being able to get a clean copy has saved me on a number of occasions when I have upgrade SP.  Just the way I do it for many upgrades now.  When you open an old project in the new version, it will convert your old version to new version.


  • Steve and Carla Farnam likes this

#5 Steve and Carla Farnam

Steve and Carla Farnam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 515 posts

Posted 25 May 2019 - 11:06 AM

Ditto Kevin's Upgrade steps



#6 Keith Almond

Keith Almond

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,600 posts
  • LocationBrockville, Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 May 2019 - 11:51 AM

As far as I'm aware, the steps you are doing is just the same as choosing YES. You can still edit the project folder to only use new projects, but choosing yes saves all the intermediate steps. Why the roundabout route? Choosing no, just gives you an out of the box configuration. If all you then do is restore everything you archived, you may as well have chosen yes. I may be wrong , but doesn't choosing yes, just move everything you had before into the new version just the same as restoring your archive does.

 

Would someone from Softplan like to clarify the differences/benefits either way?


Keith

There are 10 types of people in this world ....... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Softplan user since version 5.5.2.5

www.homehardwarekingston.ca

#7 Harald Schwegel

Harald Schwegel

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts

Posted 28 May 2019 - 09:48 AM

As far as I'm aware, the steps you are doing is just the same as choosing YES. You can still edit the project folder to only use new projects, but choosing yes saves all the intermediate steps. Why the roundabout route? Choosing no, just gives you an out of the box configuration. If all you then do is restore everything you archived, you may as well have chosen yes. I may be wrong , but doesn't choosing yes, just move everything you had before into the new version just the same as restoring your archive does.

 

Would someone from Softplan like to clarify the differences/benefits either way?

 

Keith is correct in all his points.  Selecting Yes does automatically what Kevin is doing manually in his post.

 

As to why the selection defaults to No - it is simply erring on the side of caution.  Undoing the result is next to impossible without uninstalling, deleting and reinstalling so we want users to be sure this is what they want to do. There can be several factors to consider including that the correct source was found, that it hasn't previously been done it, etc.


  • Danial Anderson and Brent Hyndman like this

#8 Edward Shannon

Edward Shannon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, Iowa

Posted 13 June 2019 - 03:49 PM

I am trying to do this but did not get the prompt to migrate files.   Kevin, you refer to "Use the archive"  Where is this located?  


Edward J Shannon, ArCH/NCARB/LEED GA


#9 Gary McKeon

Gary McKeon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 424 posts
  • LocationSilverton Oregon

Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:28 PM

I am trying to do this but did not get the prompt to migrate files.   Kevin, you refer to "Use the archive"  Where is this located?  

System Options 2nd from the top I believe.



#10 Edward Shannon

Edward Shannon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • LocationDes Moines, Iowa

Posted 14 June 2019 - 08:09 AM

Thanks, I ended up uninstalling and the reinstalling the program.  


Edward J Shannon, ArCH/NCARB/LEED GA






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: setup

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users